Archive for the ‘Indianapolis 500’ Category

Indianapolis 500On an overcast and cool Sunday afternoon, Brazilian driver Tony Kanaan won the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500, in the most anti-climactic fashion imaginable.

In a race made notable by the record breaking numbers of lead changes and leaders, it was almost a cruel bit of teasing to spectators that the race should be finished under caution after Graham Rahal’s crash with eight laps remaining was supposed to set up a shoot out between six cars for the final three laps. What no driver could’ve known was how important the restart following this caution would be, as Kanaan managed to emerge ahead of Carlos Munoz and Ryan Hunter-Reay for the 68th and final lead change of the race.

Shortly after the KV Racing Technology driver took the lead, Dario Franchitti hit the wall and caused a caution to essentially end the race. Kanaan is a worthy winner, whose luck at the race track prior to today had been especially bad. Kanaan was largely thought of as being among the best IndyCar drivers to never win the race. His prior relationship with Andretti Racing overseen by Michael Andretti – who also had never won the famed race – was often cited as something of a curse for the popular driver.

Read the rest of this entry »