— Kris Mychasiw (@sprint_mgmt) August 12, 2012
Yep, that’s the foot of a Trinidad and Tobago sprinter touching the lane during last night’s heart crushing 4 x 100m men’s relay. T&T took the Bronze after Canada was DQ’d for a similar lane violation committed by captain Jared Connaughton.
Your move IOC. Double Bronze or bust.
Update: Confusion abounds as the T&T runner didn’t commit a lane infringement during the turn, which was the crime committed by Connaughton. Commenter Emmceegee directs us to IAAF rule 163.3a which states:
“In all races run in lanes, each athlete shall keep within his allocated lane from start to finish. This shall also apply to any portion of a race run in lanes.”
So technically, fifth place France should get the Bronze. Feign your outrage elsewhere, unfortunately. Yes, rules are rules, but discretion should be an option. Like the T&T runner, Connaughton didn’t impede any of his fellow competitors. A strict interpretation of the law is needed, but why is there zero flexibility? Convoluted, thy name is Olympics.
Update II: Via commenter Wayne Chow, rule 163.3b seems to exonerate T&T as they gained no advantage in stepping on the lane line. Thanks for the tips, folks. The IAAF rule book is a tricky one.