Team Canada, who had already named Blue Jays third baseman Brett Lawrie and Twins first baseman Justin Morneau to the team last month, announced their 23-man provisional roster today, with a few surprises.

Votto stated the following in early December:

“I am very much looking forward to representing our country in the World Baseball Classic”

What he didn’t mention was that he apparently has some insurance related issues that he needs to work out before committing to the club.

Manager Ernie Whitt and Team Canada have until January 16th to name the full 28-man squad, but for now, here are the players who have been named.

Note, no Jason Bay or Ryan Dempster on this list.

1B – Justin Morneau

3B – Brett Lawrie

P – John Axford

C -Russell Martin

OF – Mike Saunders

P – Jesse Crain

P – Jimmy Henderson

P – Philippe Aumont

P – Scott Mathieson

C – Chris Robinson

INF – Pete Orr

INF – Taylor Green

INF – Cale Iorg

OF – Adam Loewen

OF – Tyson Gillies

OF – Tim Smith

P – Chris Leroux

P – Shawn Hill

P – Andrew Albers

P – Dustin Molleken

P – Trystan Magnuson

1B – Jimmy Van Ostrand

SS  – Jonathan Malo

Canada’s first game is scheduled to be played Friday, March 8th against Team Italy in Phoenix, Arizona.