The ESPYs are stupid. The awards are meaningless, and comparing athletes and teams from separate sports is a fruitless endeavor. “Best team” is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard.

That said, the awards for top plays are at least mildly tolerable. And this year, the Worldwide Leader has crafted yet another way to amp up website hits give the fans a voice by arranging a 16-play bracket in which you can vote for the best play of the year.

Three NFL plays made the top 16.

Marshawn Lynch’s unbelievable game-clinching touchdown run in the wild-card playoffs against New Orleans is the No. 2 seed. It’ll face some basketball play in the first round.

DeSean Jackson’s walk-off punt return touchdown against the Giants earned a No. 4 ranking. That play will go up against some baseball play in Round 1.

Finally, the Jaguars’ Hail Mary to beat Houston is a 10-seed and will be forced to go up against a ridiculous Bobby Ryan goal right off the bat.

A few notes:

  • There’s no way that Blake Griffin dunk on Timofey Mozgoz should be ranked No. 1 going in. I know this doesn’t mean much coming from a football guy, but slam dunks are overrated.
  • New rule: A baseball catch can’t win play of the year.
  • Ryan’s goal should win the whole thing. Too many of the nominated plays were assisted by luck. Ryan’s goal against Nashville was pure skill. That Hail Mary was cool, but it wasn’t a tremendous athletic achievement.