INDIANAPOLIS — The 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame class: Jack Butler, Dermontti Dawson, Chris Doleman Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf.

No Bill Parcells. No Cris Carter.

And for the second year in a row, no wide receivers at all.

The backlog at the receiver position will continue to grow in the coming seasons. Carter, Andre Reed and Tim Brown continue to twist in the wind as receivers continue to lose their legendary luster.

I personally can’t believe Carter is being kept out.┬áNot only were his numbers far and away better than his counterparts (his 130 touchdowns blow them out of the water) but he made an unbelievable number of clutch catches over the course of his career.

Carter was quality over quantity.

He and Reed made the top 10, but not the top five.

It was the first time since 2009 that the maximum seven players weren’t inducted, which isn’t overly surprising when you consider how unexciting the class was after Deion Sanders, Marshall Faulk and Shannon Sharpe were inducted last year. That said, I figured they’d find room for one of the receivers.

If Carter has to wait much longer, it’ll be ridiculous. But it wouldn’t surprise me if Brown and Reed never make it.

As far as Parcells goes, I’m not surprised he wasn’t inducted immediately, and I’m okay with that. I’d imagine he’ll be in next year, when Michael Strahan and Larry Allen will be the only prime new candidates.