INDIANAPOLIS — This time, a 49er wasn’t robbed. Jim Harbaugh took home 90 percent of the votes to win the AP coach of the year award in his first season as an NFL head coach.

Harbaugh took over a young team that hadn’t experienced a winning season since 2002 and led them to 13 victories and the NFC’s No. 2 seed.

An underrated factor in Harbaugh’s season: his team won after travelling across the country for a road game on four separate occasions. That isn’t an easy thing for an NFL team to do. He also got the best season yet out of previously inconsistent and disappointing quarterback Alex Smith.

As a result, Harbaugh received 45 of a possible 50 votes.

There was no doubt here.