A scary moment here for Curtis McElhinney as he takes a wicked Christian Ehrhoff off the mask.

Adding insult to injury, Daniel Sedin potted a goal on the rebound after McElhinney appeared stunned – which Anaheim Ducks coach Randy Carlyle took exception to in his post game comments:

“What’s the call when a goalie gets hit in the mask with a slap shot? …There are two linesmen that are supposed to make the call out there and that clearly is cut and dried.”

As Kevin Woodley at InGoalMagazine points out, Carlyle may have had his NHL rules mixed up:

Perhaps Carlyle, caught up in combative post-game back-and-forth with reporters, meant play should have stopped because his goalie was hurt, because there isn’t anything specific to goalie getting hit in the mask in the rulebook.

The call on stopping the play due to injury is rather clear in the NHL rulebook:

Rule 8.1 states: When a player is injured so that he cannot continue play or go to his bench, the play shall not be stopped until the injured player’s team has secured possession of the puck. If the player’s team is in possession of the puck at the time of injury, play shall be stopped immediately unless his team is in a scoring position. In the case where it is obvious that a player has sustained a serious injury, the Referee and/or Linesman may stop the play immediately.

The O.C. Register reports that Curtis McElhinny received stitches to patch up the cut, and flew home with the team.  Vancouver won the game by a final score of 5-4 in a shootout.

Comments (2)

  1. Carlyle probably watched too much IIHF hockey, were it’s automatically whistled down when a goalie gets a shot in the mask.

  2. It was a bang-bang play. There’s no way that the refs had time to see that McElhinney was injured and blow the play dead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *