Sidney Crosby appeared dazed and wounded after catching a David Steckel shoulder in the head. It was a “blindside” hit by definition, but hardly a premeditated act by Steckel. The NHL may look at the hit, although there was no penalty on the play, as it was similar to the Nick Foligno/Pat Dwyer incident from earlier this season.

It was a frustrating night for the Penguins overall. Washington overpowered them through the final two periods and hung on for a 3-1 win. Crosby returned to the game for the start of the third period, but did not factor much.

Comments (5)

  1. Incidental contact… no intent at all

  2. shouldn’t even be considered “blindside” or a “hit”. the dudes ran into each other, total accident. hope he feels better

  3. both were looking at the puck crosby slowed down and didn’t pay attention to where others were.

  4. Looks similar to the hit that laid out Doughnuts earlier this year, albeit with a less dramatic impact.

  5. It probably should have been a penalty under the NHL’s blindside hit rule, but it wasn’t done on purpose so they’ll be no suspension.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *