There’s always something a little weird about watching hockey in June. Sure, the nice weather makes tailgate parties and giant outdoor screens possible, but it also feels strange to be watching people skate around on ice when it’s hot and humid outside. It’s a bit harder to concentrate on the game when patios are calling your name.

That’s why a part of us got excited that the second round of the playoffs was passing by so quickly. We thought that there would actually be a chance that the playoffs would end in late May this year, which would be amazing. There would actually be a break between the end of the season and the draft/free agency madness. Of course, that was just wishful thinking.

Today the NHL announced the schedule for the third round and it looks like the final will start in June once again.

No matter what happens tonight between Detroit and San Jose, the first game of round three will be on Saturday night in Boston. That means the Bruins and Lightning will have over a week of rest between series. Yesterday we speculated what they would do with all of that time off but, in all seriousness, that’s a long break!

We know the NHL is never going to shorten the schedule but the fact that the season ends in mid-June and that training camp begins in September has always seemed like an unnecessarily long grind. No wonder players never truly get enough time to recover from their injuries.

Obviously we love hockey, but we also love summer weather. Do our two loves really have to cross one another in this manner? Of course, if we end up with a Tampa Bay/San Jose final, it wouldn’t matter when the games were played since it would be warm regardless.

Here is the third round schedule from NHL.com:

BOSTON BRUINS vs TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING
Saturday, May 14 at Boston, 8:00 pm
Tuesday, May 17 at Boston, 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 19 at Tampa Bay, 8:00 pm
Saturday, May 21 at Tampa Bay, 1:30 pm
*Monday, May 23 at Boston, 8:00 pm
*Wednesday, May 25 at Tampa Bay, 8:00 pm
*Friday, May 27 at Boston, 8:00 pm

If San Jose Wins:
VANCOUVER CANUCKS vs SAN JOSE SHARKS
Sunday, May 15 at Vancouver, 8:00 pm
Wednesday, May 18 at Vancouver, 9:00 pm
Friday, May 20 at San Jose, 9:00 pm
Sunday, May 22 at San Jose, 3:00 pm
*Tuesday, May 24 at Vancouver, 9:00 pm
*Thursday, May 26 at San Jose, 9:00 pm
*Saturday, May 28 at Vancouver, 8:00 pm

If Detroit Wins:
VANCOUVER CANUCKS vs DETROIT RED WINGS
Sunday, May 15 at Vancouver, 8:00 pm
Wednesday, May 18 at Vancouver, 9:00 pm
Friday, May 20 at Detroit, 8:00 pm
Sunday, May 22 at Detroit, 3:00 pm
*Tuesday, May 24 at Vancouver, 9:00 pm
*Thursday, May 26 at Detroit, 8:00 pm
*Saturday, May 28 at Vancouver, 8:00 pm