Meet the 2011 Hall of Fame inductees

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced its class for 2011 on Tuesday and it includes four former NHL players. The four inductees are Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour, Joe Nieuwendyk, and Mark Howe. There were no builders inducted this year, which probably won’t sit well with those who were waiting for the late Pat Burns to get the call.

Belfour, a two-time Vezina Trophy winner, and Nieuwendyk won a Stanley Cup together with Dallas in 1999. Nieuwendyk was a three-time winner of the Lord Stanley’s Mug, having been a part of Calgary’s championship team in 1989 and again with New Jersey in 2002-03. Nieuwendyk took home the Calder Trophy as the rookie of the year in 1987-88 after compiling 51 goals and 92 points and was the winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy in ’99.

Doug Gilmour, who will be best remembered for his six seasons (plus one game) with the Toronto Maple Leafs, finished his career with 1414 points in 1474 games while having won the Cup with Calgary in 1989 and he was the recipient of the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league’s best defensive forward in 1992-93.

Mark Howe is the lone inductee to have never hoisted the Stanley Cup, but played 16 seasons in the NHL on top of another six in the WHA. As a defenseman, Howe amassed 742 points in 929 games with the Hartford Whalers, Philadelphia Flyers, and Detroit Red Wings.

Belfour, Nieuwendyk, and Gilmour all played with the Toronto Maple Leafs at various points in their respective careers, although Gilmour is the only one of the trio that spent time there in his prime.

Several notable players that will not be getting the nod this season include: Adam Oates, Pavel Bure, Eric Lindros, Dave Andreychuk, Phil Housley, and Kevin Lowe.